page 1
page 2
page 3
page 4
page 5
page 6
page 7
page 8
page 9
page 10
page 11
page 12
page 13
page 14
page 15
page 16
page 17
page 18
page 19
page 20
page 21
page 22
page 23
page 24
page 25
page 26
page 27
page 28
page 29
page 30
page 31
page 32
page 33
page 34
page 35
page 36
page 37
page 38
page 39
page 40
page 41
page 42
page 43
page 44
page 45
page 46
page 47
page 48
page 49
page 50
page 51
page 52
page 53
page 54
page 55
page 56
page 57
page 58
page 59
page 60
page 61
page 62
page 63
page 64
page 65
page 66
page 67
page 68
page 69
page 70
page 71
page 72
page 73
page 74
page 75
page 76
page 77
page 78
page 79
page 80
page 81
page 82
page 83
page 84
page 85
page 86
page 87
page 88
page 89
page 90
page 91
page 92
page 93
page 94
page 95
page 96
page 97
page 98
page 99
page 100
page 101
page 102

July 09 www. bus- ex. com 3 Excellence innovation through Kuwait is the third- richest country in the world, and its rate of development reflects that. This issue of Business Excellence Online features the spectacular Al Hamra Tower that will be Kuwait's tallest building when it opens in 2010, and a testament to the skill of Ahmadiah Construction, the contractor responsible for bringing this iconic project to life. Meanwhile, in Egypt, oil has been discovered for the first time in the south of the country. Dr Hany Elsharkawi, president of Dana Gas Egypt, the company prepared to take on the challenge of the area's shaky infrastructure and remote geography, says that " for an oil and gas company, this is the best place on earth to be." Another company demonstrating excellence in the Middle East is Electro Saudi Services. All too common these days are companies that will put profi ts before the welfare of their staff, but this one is bucking the trend, and its rewards come in the form of a loyal client base. In South Africa, although the mining industry EDITORIAL Editor In Chief Martin Ashcroft mashcroft@ bus- ex. com Managing Editors Bud Sadler bsadler@ bus- ex. com Becky Done bdone@ bus- ex. com Assistant Editor Jaclyn Beck jbeck@ bus- ex. com DESIGN Production/ Creative Director Zachary Smith zsmith@ bus- ex. com Production Designer Katelin Abbott kabbott@ bus- ex. com PUBLISHERS Business Directors Andy Kerr Andy Turner info@ bus- ex. com BUSINESS Director of Editorial Research Stephen Warman swarman@ bus- ex. com Director of Sales Kevin Ellis kellis@ bus- ex. com Administration & Operations Alice Doran adoran@ bus- ex. com Subscriptions info@ bus- ex. com Infi nity Business Media Ltd Suite 22, St Francis House Queens Road Norwich, NR1 3PN UK Tel: + 44 ( 0) 203 137 7100 Fax: + 44 ( 0) 1603 666466 www. bus- ex. com Editor's letter Businessexcellence ACHIEVING is not as buoyant as it has been, there is no shortage of companies using innovation to their advantage. Cyclone Projects & Consulting is improving mine efficiency and environmental performance with its unique system of dam construction and tailings management, while equipment provider VR Steel has found that a mutually beneficial client- supplier relationship is the best way to retain customers in the current climate. Sekoko Resources has the backing of its community investors as it continues to maximise the many opportunities that arise from mining for coal. But the mining industry is only one face of South Africa. It continues to develop as an innovative destination for tourists, too, with staff at Montecasino, a star- studded music and entertainment venue, actively encouraged to dream up events and ideas to attract up to one million visitors per month. Clearly, there are ways through these tough economic times. It just takes a little imagination to find them.

FEATURES STRATEGIC MANAGEMENT Mission: possible For an international intelligence organisation such as Invizion, global uncertainty is an opportunity as much as a threat. OPERATIONAL EXCELLENCE: A business of endurance The largest manufacturer of finished granite memorials in North America has harnessed best practices in the interest of customer service. INFRASTRUCTURE Pay- as- you- go Software as a service, often referred to as Saas, is simply an affordable solution. Thomas R. Cutler talks to some satisfied customers. 46 6 10 14 4 www. bus- ex. com July 09 10 18 3842 50