page 1
page 2
page 3
page 4
page 5
page 6
page 7
page 8
page 9
page 10
page 11
page 12
page 13
page 14
page 15
page 16
page 17
page 18
page 19
page 20
page 21
page 22
page 23
page 24
page 25
page 26
page 27
page 28
page 29
page 30
page 31
page 32
page 33
page 34
page 35
page 36
page 37
page 38
page 39
page 40
page 41
page 42
page 43
page 44
page 45
page 46
page 47
page 48
page 49
page 50
page 51
page 52
page 53
page 54
page 55
page 56
page 57
page 58
page 59
page 60
page 61
page 62
page 63
page 64
page 65
page 66
page 67
page 68
page 69
page 70
page 71
page 72
page 73
page 74
page 75
page 76
page 77
page 78

perspective Anew You'd be hard pressed to find an organisation that would turn down the chance to appeal to a brand new body of customers. And as this issue of Achieving Business Excellence demonstrates, one way to achieve this is by challenging preconceived ideas about your business. Some of the most successful marketing campaigns of recent times have appealed to the environmental, moral or health- conscious priorities of an existing or target customer base by challenging their preconceptions of an individual product, industry or company. Indeed, the ability to overturn outdated or inaccurate views can be of massive benefit to your business, bringing it to the attention of a whole new raft of potential customers. Several years ago, McCain Foods was probably perceived by the average consumer as just another frozen food company. But McCain is now on a mission to alter the long-held idea that frozen food is somehow inferior to fresh by promoting the nutritious properties of both its existing and forthcoming products. EDITORIAL Editor In Chief Martin Ashcroft mashcroft@ bus- ex. com Managing Editor Becky Done bdone@ bus- ex. com DESIGN Production/ Creative Director Zachary Smith zsmith@ bus- ex. com Production Designer Katelin Abbott kabbott@ bus- ex. com PUBLISHERS Business Directors Andy Kerr Andy Turner info@ bus- ex. com BUSINESS Director of Editorial Research Stephen Warman swarman@ bus- ex. com Director of Sales Sean Brett sbrett@ bus- ex. com Administration & Operations Alice Doran adoran@ bus- ex. com Subscriptions info@ bus- ex. com Infinity Business Media Ltd Suite 22, St Francis House Queens Road Norwich, NR1 3PN UK Tel: + 44 ( 0) 203 137 7100 Fax: + 44 ( 0) 1603 666466 www. bus- ex. com Editor's letter Businessexcellence ACHIEVING With 65 per cent of the frozen foods market in South Africa and a forecast 20 per cent increase in sales this year, the success of these efforts speaks for itself. Casinos Austria International ( CAI) is also keen to shake off the traditional view of its industry. Yes, casinos are about gambling; but the company also wants to target an entirely new customer base by proving that casinos should focus more on fun and relaxation than compulsion. CAI's new Viage entertainment complex, based in Brussels, boasts a restaurant, sports bar and events centre as well as a casino, in an effort to appeal to the family market as well as to gamblers. Moreover, these offerings are not simply an add- on to a gaming agenda- they are attractions in their own right. If you're in business, the upshot of successfully challenging some of the more negative perceptions about your company or industry could be the very welcome growth of your client base. January 10 www. bus- ex. com 3