page 1
page 2
page 3
page 4
page 5
page 6
page 7
page 8
page 9
page 10
page 11
page 12
page 13
page 14
page 15
page 16
page 17
page 18
page 19
page 20
page 21
page 22
page 23
page 24
page 25
page 26
page 27
page 28
page 29
page 30
page 31
page 32
page 33
page 34
page 35
page 36
page 37
page 38
page 39
page 40
page 41
page 42
page 43
page 44
page 45
page 46
page 47
page 48
page 49
page 50
page 51
page 52
page 53
page 54
page 55
page 56
page 57
page 58
page 59
page 60
page 61
page 62
page 63
page 64
page 65
page 66
page 67
page 68
page 69
page 70
page 71
page 72
page 73
page 74
page 75
page 76
page 77
page 78
page 79
page 80
page 81
page 82
page 83
page 84
page 85
page 86
page 87
page 88
page 89
page 90
page 91
page 92
page 93
page 94
page 95
page 96
page 97
page 98
page 99
page 100
page 101
page 102
page 103
page 104
page 105
page 106
page 107
page 108
page 109
page 110
page 111
page 112
page 113
page 114
page 115
page 116
page 117
page 118
page 119
page 120
page 121
page 122
page 123
page 124
page 125
page 126
page 127
page 128
page 129
page 130

FullyengagedFor large and successful businesses operating in any area of the world, community relations can be said to be no less crucial than accurate accounting. Of course, social responsibility can be interpreted in a myriad of ways, depending on the needs and priorities of the surrounding community. From the extensive stakeholder engagement programme set up by Newmont Ghana Gold to liaise with local residents over the issues that matter to them, to the nutritious midday meals provided by the JSW Foundation in India to encourage children to stay on at school, this issue of Achieving Business Excellence Online demonstrates the many opportunities open to businesses to become a force for good.Sites themselves can provide jobs directly or indirectly through local suppliers; help and guidance may be offered to local farmers; and literacy programmes might be implemented to raise the skills levels of EDITORIALEditor In ChiefMartin Ashcroftmashcroft@bus-ex.comManaging EditorBecky Donebdone@bus-ex.comDESIGNProduction/Creative DirectorZachary Smithzsmith@bus-ex.comProduction DesignerKatelin Abbottkabbott@bus-ex.comPUBLISHERBusiness DirectorAndy Turnerinfo@bus-ex.comBUSINESSDirector of Editorial ResearchScott Mason smason@bus-ex.comDirector of SalesSean Brettsbrett@bus-ex.com Assistant Research DirectorsVincent Kielty vincent@bus-ex.comSam Howard showard@bus-ex.comRichard Halfhide rhalfhide@bus-ex.comRobert Hodgson rhodgson@bus-ex.comAdministration & OperationsAlice Doranadoran@bus-ex.comSubscriptionsinfo@bus-ex.comInfinity Business Media LtdSuite 22, St Francis HouseQueens RoadNorwich, NR1 3PN UKTel: +44 (0) 203 137 7100 Fax: +44 (0) 1603 666466www.bus-ex.comEditor's letterBusinessexcellenceACHIEVINGsurrounding communities. There could be measures in place to preserve local culture and heritage, as well as initiatives to help improve healthcare or health awareness.At Zinkgruvan Mine in Sweden, some members of the workforce are fifth-generation employees, as well as being residents of the local village. The company has put noise and dust suppression measures in place at its site and strives to obtain services and equipment from local businesses. As managing director Sam Rasmussen puts it: "It's their skill and dedication which keeps the plant running as productively as it does and they deserve that we act as responsibly as we do."Rather than rejecting their corporate social responsibilities, it is clear from the stories herein that businesses are embracing them instead-which sets an important example for any junior companies hoping to follow in their footsteps.March 10 www.bus-ex.com 3